Mama Africa

Mama, I sometimes forget how beautiful you are.

How your eyes still glow bright like the Sudanese Sun.

Mama, you are Mama Africa.

That if God lowered the tempo of my chest to a slow hum

I would ask him, keep drumming, lower your gun!

If he’d just let me say bye to Mama Africa.

How those hands have stirred many ugalis,

Those tips have been burned by the heat of many chapattis

Those scars on your skin are remembrances

of the battles you fought to be free.

When I see you in pictures I just freeze.

Those muzungus you work for

have no understanding

that even in life and death  you smile and are at peace.

Mama, you are Mama Africa.

Even with my western education, I still ask for your wisdom.

What is success if one is not humble?

Help, I am lost in this unknown land!

Turned to walk away, but could not stand.

Mama, you are Mama Africa!

Your thick blood has been shaken,

Feet hardened, back broken,

Like the Nile you flow, never stopped by your sickness.

Mama, you are Mama Africa!

You listen to the traditionalists

The men roaming, their hands up in fists

Deciphering what it takes to live

I want to have that with my kids.

Mama, I sometimes forget how beautiful you are.

Those sambusas you make must have the ingredients only found in your yard.

In the cold now, you seem so far.

Mama, you are Mama Africa.

mamaafrica

Leave a Reply

